top of page

First Impressions

SO...I have successfully survived my first week of classes. We have an idea of what my schedule will be like for the future. I am currently a JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) Level E-F, the highest level being a Level A, so I have a lot to look forward to. Due to my level difference from the rest of the class I am usually put in a separate room where I work with the Teachers Assistant to get caught up. Once I meet a certain level of proficiency i will be bumped forward to the other class. I have been assigned two wonderful tutors, Yuka and Yuri (Yes, I do get the names confused sometimes but I'm working on it.) They are awesome girls and I look forward to working with them to improve my language skills.

For now my text materials include the Genki Level 1 textbook ( Luckily I brought this with me from my previous Japanese study experience.), Kanji - Look and learn, and a listening comprehension textbook. I had to purchase the last two but the prices for textbooks here are wonderfully cheaper than the amount I would have paid in the United States. I cannot fully express how happy I am to say that. There is a small convenience store located on campus where one can purchase food and snacks, textbooks, and other school supplies. If you can't find what you need there, there is a wonderfully stocked bookstore and supply shop on the fourth floor of a nearby department store. My favorite purchase is a file organizer which all my class handouts go. It makes studying so much easier when I have everything I need in one convenient place.

Here in Hakodate their are several available forms of transport. Public, Tram and Bus systems; Profit, Taxis; and Manual, any motorized transport that you drive such as motorcycles, cars, and the occasional scooter. If none of those are available bicycles are very common and if nothing else suits your fancy, as a last resort walking is an option. I happen to be quite proficient at the latter and find myself happily strolling about. However for the sake of punctuality and proficiency I have purchased a rather quaint bicycle whom I have fondly named Peggy, short for Pegasus. As a side note, I name all my transportation and electronic devices after characters from myths and folktales. Peggy has a small basket in the front and a rack on the back wheel so there is plenty of room for holding stuff, as well as a small bell and a pedal-activated light. Modern bikes in Japan also have a wonderful little feature. Each bike comes with its own attached tire-lock.

My refrigerator has arrived so I can now make meals at home. YAY! There is a supermarket located a few blocks away and I am able to find most everything I need there. The hardest thing to find was honey and butter, Next time I might go just to look around and familiarize myself with the layout, then again, isn't that sort of what happens every time i go into a store. I may have a list of groceries with me but by the time I check out I have usually explored everywhere but the back and the men's bathroom. I think I may need to work on that. For now I will practice my Japanese and enjoy a lovely cup of tea while completing various domestic activities. Thank you for reading and I hope to see you soon.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page